The Steering Committee

The Alliance Steering Committee is a group of Alliance members that makes strategic decisions and provides operational and financial oversight of and political guidance to the Secretariat. Their remit includes reviewing and approving the Alliance work plans, and mobilizing critical finance to implement innovative solutions to challenges faced in the sub-national climate finance.   

Steering Committee members are elected by the membership and rotate on a two-year cycle. The current Steering Committee include the following:

CORE DONORSGerman Ministry for the Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety (BMU)Vera Rodenhoff, Head of Division, International Cooperation on Environment, Energy and Cities, OECD and OECD-Countries
German Ministry for Economic Cooperation and Development (BMZ)Ruben Werchan, Senior Policy Officer for Sustainable Urban Development
NATIONAL GOVERNMENTSACTEDD (Congolese Agency for Ecological Transition and Sustainable Development)Samba Karhini-Masengo Guisse, Permanent Consultant to the President of the DRC
CITY and REGIONAL NETWORKSICLEIMaryke Van Staden, Director
Global Covenant of Mayors (GCoM)Andy Deacon, Director of Strategy and Operations
PUBLIC FINANCE INSTITUTIONSEuropean Investment Bank (EIB)Gerry Muscat, Head of Division, Urban Development
World BankPeter Daniel Ellis, Global Lead
RESEARCH ORGANIZATIONS, NGOsSustainable Infrastructure Foundation (SIF)Pierre Sarrat, Chief Operation Officer
CDPKatie Walsh, Head Cities, States and Regions
INTERNATIONAL ORGANISATIONSGreen Climate Fund (GCF)Drazen Kucan, Lead Urban and Energy Efficiency Specialist
Climate Investment Fund (CIF)Mafalda Duarte, Head